GreenMill - Dutch Gouda Cheese

We bring you authentic Dutch Gouda Cheese under the GreenMill brand, produced in the Netherlands according traditional recipe. Free of additives, preservatives and taste enhancers. Made with vegetarian rennet, therefor suitable for vegetarians.

We’ve made a selection of top quality Dutch cheeses, specifically for the Indian market. They’re made using vegetarian rennet, making them 100% suitable for vegetarians. This way everybody in India can enjoy the taste of authentic Dutch Gouda cheese.

The best quality cheeses are made in The Netherlands. The most famous Dutch cheese is the Gouda cheese. Gouda is a place in the Netherlands where cheese was being trade. Hence the name Gouda cheese. All over the world you will stumble upon cheeses referring to Gouda. Besides that Gouda is one of the oldest recorded cheeses, a very special cheese with a characterisic taste.

GreenMill® by RaDe Group, India’s first own Dutch cheese brand. We have the best Dutch Gouda cheese (made from cows milk) without any additives, coloring and taste enhancers. Although some cheeses might need certain additives to get their distinctive taste or structure. GreenMill® cheese is suitable for vegetarians because we only allow vegetarian rennet in our cheese. This way we respect the holy cow as she is and still can present a high quality cheese with a superb taste.

At the moment we only have plain Gouda cheese in our assortment. But from time to time we introduce new cheeses, some with flavors and some high graded.

    Buy here

    Want to try one of our Authentic Dutch Cheeses? Take a look in our webshop.

    Dutch Gouda
    Dutch: “Goudse kaas”, meaning “cheese from Gouda”.

    Gouda is a Dutch yellow cheese made from cow’s milk. It is named after the city of Gouda in the Netherlands. One of the most popular cheeses worldwide. The name Gouda is used as a general term for a variety of similar cheeses produced in the traditional Dutch manner, as well as the Dutch Original.

    About Gouda cheese
    History of Gouda cheese:
    The first mention of Gouda cheese dates from 1184, making it one of the oldest recorded cheeses in the world still made today.
    The cheese is named after the Dutch city of Gouda, not because it is produced in or near the city, but because it has historically been traded there. In the Middle Ages, Dutch cities could obtain certain feudal rights which gave them primacy or a total monopoly on certain goods. Within the County of Holland, Gouda acquired market rights on cheese, the sole right to have a market in which the county’s farmers could sell their cheese. All the cheeses would be taken to the market square in Gouda to be sold.

    Teams consisting of the guild of cheese-porters, identified by differently colored straw hats, carried the farmers’ cheeses on barrows, which typically weighed about 160 kg. Buyers then sampled the cheeses and negotiated a price using a ritual system called “handjeklap” in which buyers and sellers clap each other’s hands and shout prices. Once a price was agreed, the porters would carry the cheese to the weighing house and complete the sale.

    To this day, farmers from the surrounding region gather in Gouda every Thursday morning between 10 am and 12:30 pm from June until August to have their cheeses weighed, tasted, and priced. Today, most Dutch Gouda is produced industrially. However, some 300 Dutch farmers still produce boerenkaas (“farmers cheese”) which is a protected form of Gouda made in the traditional manner, using unpasteurized milk. Cheesemaking traditionally was a woman’s task in Dutch culture, with farmers’ wives passing their cheesemaking skills on to their daughters.

    Authentic Gouda cheeses can only be made in the Netherlands and can only use milk produced by Dutch cows.

    What is Rennet...

    … and what is it used for?

    Rennet is an enzyme used in the solidification process of the cheese making, it solidifies the milk. Traditionally rennet is harvested from the stomach of the calf, which dies in the process. So in essence when you eat cheese which is made with the use of animal rennet you are eating a part of the calf. This makes the cheese unsuitable for vegetarians and Hindu’s all over the world.

    Luckily there is a solution for this issue.

    Vegetarian rennet; This is an microbiological enzyme that mimics the characteristics of animal rennet, but has no animal origin. This
    makes the cheese suitable for vegetarians and Hindu’s all over the world.

    All current and future cheeses of RaDe Group will exclusively be made with vegetarian rennet and marketed under the GreenMill®
    brand. This way you can enjoy your cheese without having to think twice about the origin of the ingredients.

    Besides that; Indian law and regulations prohibit the import of Animal Rennet!


    Source: Market Access Database

    Yet! still cheese with animal rennet is sold in India!!! Beware of that!